Author Topic: Cult (part of religion)  (Read 10866 times)

Aldwoni

• Knight
    • View Profile
Cult (part of religion)
« Topic Start: March 23, 2011, 10:36:57 PM »
I'm not very good at explaining what I mean but I hope it is clear enough.

What if there is a new option in Battlemaster called "Cults":

If you are an elder member of a religion, you can start a cult. Cults are sub-groups of a religion.
for example: a religion called Christianity could have 3 cults: Protestantism, Roman Catholic Church and Eastern Orthodox churches
So the religions are based on the same ideas(or at least have some ideas in common) but aren't the same. Other possible cults could be a group of 'mostly' infiltrators which act based on their believes but not always communicate with the religion.

A cult can own temples, have members but all members and temples are also part of the religion. Outsiders(members of other religions) mostly don't know of the existence of cults.

If a cult wants, they can start a new religion. Then all temples and members of the cult become part of the new religion. depending on how they split they will automaticly view the old religion as  variant or evil as the split is friendly or brutal. the same applies for the old religion to the new religion.
The elders of a religion can also try to disband an cult. the elder members of the cult then have the choice to disband or split.

Elder members of a cult don't need to be elder members of the religion.

Ender

• Noble Lord
  • Neill Family
    • View Profile
Re: Cult (part of religion)
« Reply #1: March 23, 2011, 10:54:41 PM »
You can more or less do this by creating separate ranks in a religion for each section of belief. I've been in a few and read some that do this.