Author Topic: Rules clarification: energy/concentration  (Read 718 times)

Zane

  • Knight
  • **
  • Posts: 68
  • Ignore that sociopathic stuff. We're quite nice!
    • View Profile
Rules clarification: energy/concentration
« Topic Start: August 25, 2011, 01:26:38 AM »
I'm trying to wrap my head around how the energy and concentration costs are calculated.  The examples on the SM3 site say:

Quote
So if you have a skill level of 12 in fire, casting a Fireball spell or similar effect, which has a power level of 12, has just become possible for you and will result in an energy cost of 12 / 12 = 1
and
Quote
So if your skill level in harm is 20, casting a Fireball requires 12 / 20 = 0.6 points of concentration.

The base is linked to the energy cost and the intent is linked to the concentration cost.  Correct?

But then the skills page says something apparently contradictory:
Quote
So, for example, a magician with harm 12 and fire 20 who throws a Fireball (power level 12) will spend 1 energy and gain 1 XP in harm while spending 0.6 concentration and gaining 0.6 XP in fire.

Is the example from the skills page a misstatement with the intent and base skill levels reversed?  Or am I totally misreading it?  :)

Tom

  • Administrator
  • Exalted Emperor
  • *
  • Posts: 8203
    • View Profile
    • BattleMaster
Re: Rules clarification: energy/concentration
« Reply #1: August 25, 2011, 01:36:35 AM »
My bad, fixed now. The skills page was wrong. Bases are linked to Energy and Intent is linked to Concentration.