Author Topic: Diplomats are lame.  (Read 5369 times)

Kalanar

• Freeman
    • View Profile
Diplomats are lame.
« Topic Start: August 31, 2011, 07:21:23 PM »
 Kinda lame. I thought I'd be traveling to foreign courts, speaking to other players... etc. Instead I'm pressing two buttons a turn to maintain treaties with an imaginary lesser nobility. It seems this feature only serves to isolate what would be an otherwise very interesting class.

But I'm new to it. Maybe there will be other things in a couple of years when I'm finally able to have an effect on Lord Makebelieve and convince him our treaties are good.

Indirik

• Exalted Emperor
  • No pressure, no diamonds.
    • View Profile
Re: Diplomats are lame.
« Reply #1: August 31, 2011, 07:24:40 PM »
Treaty maintenance is pointless, since the treaties don't actually do anything yet. So treaty maintenance is a waste of time. I suggest you ask your ruler to just cancel all the treaties. Or just ignore the friction, and let them fall apart on their own.

If treaties are ever enacted as a real game mechanic, I don't think the current friction mechanic will be used as it stands now.
If at first you don't succeed, don't take up skydiving.

Peri

• Noble Lord
    • View Profile
« Reply #2: August 31, 2011, 07:54:44 PM »
Indeed, no one should spend time over reducing friction and I believe the devs recently deleted the constant warnings sent to rulers and diplomats about treaty friction raising (that was really annoying).

Ambassador IS a nice class. Get in touch with your ruler and start going around :)

Kalanar

• Freeman
    • View Profile
« Reply #3: August 31, 2011, 07:58:08 PM »
Hmph, I get warnings every darn day. But thanks for the replies, makes me feel better about things.

Indirik

• Exalted Emperor
  • No pressure, no diamonds.
    • View Profile
« Reply #4: August 31, 2011, 08:52:34 PM »
Please stop spamming those everywhere. Those are OT spam in all forums other than you-know-where.