Author Topic: Takeovers of coastal regions  (Read 2629 times)

Chenier

• Exalted Emperor
    • View Profile
Takeovers of coastal regions
« Topic Start: April 23, 2013, 01:15:01 PM »
I've been thinking... The restriction of needing an adjacent region to conduct a takeover was lifted due to sea travel... But this is resulting in realms from the other corner of the map conducting takeovers to reduce distance from capital issues (example: Astrum taking over a region on the Madinian isle) and just a generalized tendency to conduct takeovers of very far regions with no hopes of keeping them (Aurvandil taking over Saffalore to use its harbors). Holding these regions is imposible, but there is a significant advantage to doing that anyways. And it looks like it's a trend that will increase. But it's in complete contradiction with how we've handled takeovers since at least I started playing, in 2006.

Sure, it's necessary to be able to continue takeover over sea once the sea routes are removed, but maybe a distance cap should be put? ex, must be within 500 miles by bird's eye of an owned region to conduct a takeover? Otherwise it breaks how it used to take time to slowly progress and expand towards an enemy before being able to consider taking out one of his cities. Now, one can just sail directly to the city's outskirts, move on to attack the coastal city, and begin a takeover. The defenders will never get to use the walls because of the takeover, and the war could end quickly without any of the traditional fighting in various choke points. Then, owning the region will mean cheap embarkation costs to go back home...