Author Topic: Order of battle?  (Read 226 times)

Steele_House

  • Peasant
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Order of battle?
« Topic Start: August 10, 2017, 07:37:50 AM »
I thought I knew who moved first and built a unit settings around it.  I was wrong.  Is this a secret or can the order of battle be published?

order of battle example below.  I say "can" because they could be defensive and behind fortifications, out or range, be ranged and fire and not move or already be engaged in melee.

Archers can fire if enemy in range - damage calculated according to the range prior to the enemy movement
attacking cavalry can move
defending cavalry can move
attacking infantry can move
defending infantry can move
attacking ranged can move
defending ranged can move

damage is resolved
« Last Edit: August 10, 2017, 08:12:29 AM by Steele_House »

Anaris

  • BM Dev Team
  • Honourable King
  • *
  • Posts: 7477
    • View Profile
Re: Order of battle?
« Reply #1: August 10, 2017, 02:44:07 PM »
Nope. Each unit is randomly assigned a slot in the order and gets to take their actions.

Perhaps it should be something more like that, but currently, it's not. It's pretty much

All units take their actions, interspersed
Damage is resolved
Next round
Timothy Collett

"The only thing you can't trade for your heart's desire...is your heart." "You are what you do.  Choose again, and change." "One of these days, someone's gonna plug you, and you're going to die saying, 'What did I say? What did I say?'"  ~ Miles Naismith Vorkosigan

Nosferatus

  • Testers
  • Mighty Duke
  • *
  • Posts: 1029
  • Too weird to live, too rare to die
    • View Profile
Re: Order of battle?
« Reply #2: August 10, 2017, 03:53:50 PM »
It caused a few unexpected situations for sure.
Is it feasible to change the order of battle? or will it take allot of work?
Formerly playing the Nosferatus and Bhrantan Family.
Currently playing the Polytus Family in: Gotland, Madina, Astrum, Outer Tilog

Wimpie

  • Developer
  • BM Dev Team
  • Mighty Duke
  • *
  • Posts: 1000
    • View Profile
Re: Order of battle?
« Reply #3: August 10, 2017, 04:07:55 PM »
It caused a few unexpected situations for sure.
Is it feasible to change the order of battle? or will it take allot of work?

*Laughs in PHP* :P
Jeames (Vix Tiramora, EC), Osgar (Thalmarkin, BT), Nasgar (Westfold, DWI), Jari (Outer Tilog, COL)

Nosferatus

  • Testers
  • Mighty Duke
  • *
  • Posts: 1029
  • Too weird to live, too rare to die
    • View Profile
Re: Order of battle?
« Reply #4: August 10, 2017, 04:16:09 PM »
*Laughs in PHP* :P

I'll take that as a yes :P
Formerly playing the Nosferatus and Bhrantan Family.
Currently playing the Polytus Family in: Gotland, Madina, Astrum, Outer Tilog

Steele_House

  • Peasant
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Order of battle?
« Reply #5: August 11, 2017, 07:07:13 AM »

Random is hard to believe.  I've seen one cavalry unit move before piles of enemy infantry when both groups were in Front.

If it is random then a cavalry unit that just wiped out an enemy will not get charge benefits if an enemy in the next space over moves before they move?

Whoever randomly moves first can have a massive impact.  My army's settings - could have worked - if randomly my cavalry had been selected before the enemy cavalry.

Gabanus family

  • Board Moderator
  • Mighty Duke
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
Re: Order of battle?
« Reply #6: August 11, 2017, 04:54:03 PM »
Could you give us the parts of the battle report which are relevant (or if you know how to put it onto the Wiki entirely that would be even better). I'd be much interested in seeing what happened here and maybe then we can shed some more light on what happened and might have effected it.
New account active chars:
Garas: First Oligarch - Goriad: Astrum - Goriad II: Obia'Syela

Steele_House

  • Peasant
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Order of battle?
« Reply #7: August 13, 2017, 10:08:06 AM »
All my examples are with the daimons, so perhaps the daimons are an exception to the random selection.  I do not currently have a scribe note and I'm not sure how to put the message up for you here or on the wiki, but I'll try to work on that.